Castle Waiting

I don’t normally like cozy reads.  But I can’t deny that this is what Castle Waiting is–cozy with an edge, I suppose.  It reads almost like really, really well-done fan-fiction.  In the opening pages of her story about Lady Jain, Linda Medley quickly hooked me: Jain traveled alone, heavily pregnant, and sporting a black eye, seeking refuge in Castle Waiting.  All I needed were those first few pages establishing her as strong, mysterious, and sympathetic; after that I was happy to just watch her be happy and safe, cared for by the Castle’s motley crew.  The other main story here concerns bearded ladies–a topic I dare you to find covered in another graphic novel!  Castle Waiting is a perfect mix of cozy and downright weird. Castle Waiting

Leave a Reply

